Restaurants, Pubs, Clubs and Bars reviews made by reviewer 'Honkyb'

Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Lord Kelvin - Kings Lynn - Norfolk written 29 Oct 2012


Outside it looks like a dive. Inside, it gets worse! The bar is a large, centrally-positioned, oval, wood monolith with tarnished brass fittings. Most of the space where customers might otherwise be able to sit is taken up by a pool table. Proper ale doesn't exist. You can get a pint of Stella and (if you are very patient and persistent) a warm glass of wine.

Etched glass windows decorate the doors to the loos, and there??ôs a weird shrine to West Ham football club glued to one wall. The place claims to do food, but I'm not sure I would want to push my luck that far. You're safer sticking to crisps.

Dont upset Ollie "The Kelvinator" (landlady), it's rumoured she's never been out in daylight. A chav pub, frequented by substance abusers, loud, ignorant locals and sellers of fake Viagara. Won't be my venue of choice next time I happen to be passing through.
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester
For a restaurant that claims it's French, I was surprised to see them list the main course as the "Entree". That's American!! The French word entree means exactly that - the first course.

And they're lardons, not lardoons!!

Other than that, twas about okay!
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of Coach & Horses Inn - Dersingham - Norfolk written 30 Sep 2012


Despite being a weekday in a quiet village the pub was busy and it deserved to be. Apart from the friendly welcome from the landlady, they sold real ales (Woodford's Wherry!!) and the food was good substantial pub fayre (try the pork and apple burger or ribs). Comfortable and unpretentious - definitely worth a visit
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Famous Creg Ny Baa - Onchan - Isle of Man written 11 Sep 2012


Great meal, great beer, staff are extremely friendly. This is the sort of pub that some others should set their standards by!
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Milton Inn - Monifieth - Angus written 7 Aug 2012


Plenty of parking and easy to find, we were given a very friendly welcome at The Milton Inn. The room was spotlessly clean and really big. Dinner was a real pleasure and great value for money. The service was excellent, the wine list extensive and reasonably priced and the Steak & Guinness pie had me drooling! Finished it all of with a cappuccino creme brulee! Will definitely be back next time I'm in Scotland.
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of Fox & Hounds - Wirral - Merseyside written 7 Jul 2012


Huge range of well kept real ales and cask beers. Excellent 'home cooked' pub food with quick and friendly service. The food was very tasty with a wide choice and served within 5 minutes of ordering by the excellent and attentive staff. The Fox & Hounds is only small but has an intimate atmosphere and is nicely decorated with local pictures, plenty of brass and other interesting memorabilia. It seems that, in winter, they have a nice fire lit in both bar and lounge. Did I mention that the beer was great?
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Bear Inn - Belper - Derbyshire written 14 Feb 2012


For starters, the deep fried haggis in whisky sauce was to die for! Her indoors followed up with steak and potato pie which was clearly miles better than your average pub pie - none of that flaky commercial pastry covering gristle in a watery gravy. I went for the slow cooked lamb which got a big thumbs up. First class chips and nice to have veggies as standard as opposed to having to pay extra like you seem to have to do almost everywhere nowadays. Great beer, lovely atmosphere. Go for it - don't hesitate!
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Saxon Mill - Warwick - Warwickshire written 10 Nov 2011


The Saxon Mill is a lovely place to visit on a sunny autumn day. Really nice surroundings in the restaurant along with pleasant, helpful service. The decor is top notch, with a feeling of "old meets new". With a roaring fire and comfy sofas, it was beautifully cosy and relaxing.

We chose to eat bar meals in the pub area rather than the restaurant. The bar staff were extremely friendly and the menu had a great choice.The food was all piping hot and excellent quality. I shall happily go again.
Honkyb avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
4 helpful votes
Male age 40-49 from Manchester

Review of The Lifeboat Inn - Thornham - Norfolk written 1 Mar 2011


The beers at The Lifeboat are top class with quality real ales such as Woodfords Wherry, Adnams, Green King Abbot, IPA and The Governor. The food, too, is excellent and the service very good. Even on busy weekends you don't have to wait long between couses.

I would definitely recommend the Lifeboat if you are in the area for great beer and good food at reasonable prices.