Restaurants, Pubs, Clubs and Bars reviews made by reviewer 'frankie'

frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of British Hotel - Douglas - Isle of Man written 20 Oct 2012


How very sad! This building is an architectural gem. Inside, they have managed to retain a little of the atmosphere, but the sort of patrons it now attracts seem to be those who get drunk, swear loudly, vomit in the corners and generally threaten respectable drinkers.

A few years ago, it wasn't like this, it was a decent quayside pub. What happened? New management who don't give a damn? The last two times I have set foot in The British, I had one drink and left. I suspect it will be a long time before I try again.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Baltic Inn - Foxdale - Isle of Man written 20 Oct 2012


I have to agree with JackHigh here. This is a local pub catering to the needs of the village people who they treat as friends. If you are a stranger in their midst, you may have to work at your diplomacy levels to begin with, but maybe the effort could be worthwhile!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Ifield Court Hotel - Crawley - West Sussex written 11 Oct 2012


I have been using Ifield Court for more than 30 years. During that time, the standards have always been consistently good. The staff are saints (or as close as you can get!), the surroundings are unique, the rooms are well furnished and comfortable, the parking is huge (useful if you are leaving your car there while you fly away to the sun), and the prices are very reasonable.

The bar serves excellent beers and wines and, if the weather is good, you can step out onto the terrace and watch the rabbits playing on the extensive lawns. The restaurant is fresh and comfortable and the food is truly excellent. It's a perfect way to start or end a trip abroad, or simply to stop by for a drink and something to eat.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Wenns - Kings Lynn - Norfolk written 15 Aug 2012


Luch time, sandwiches, pint of ale, game of arrows, good laugh with your mates, and no better place to do it than in The Wenns. Sociable folk, clean pub, nice feel to it, easy parking (except Saturdays!)
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Lifeboat Inn - Thornham - Norfolk written 15 Aug 2012


I visit the Lifeboat regularly when I am in Norfolk visiting my old haunts. I love the atmosphere of the place - it has a beautiful interior which is rustic yet cosy and always warm and welcoming.

The food is excellent and I would recommend sitting in the conservatory if you prefer less formal dining. This looks out over a walled patio area which, weather permitting, is a great area to eat lunch or have a drink. For kids, there's a children's play area to keep them entertained.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Staghunters Inn - Lynton - Devon written 13 Aug 2012


We used the Staghunters Inn for our evening meals while in the area and at the end of our break, we felt as though we were leaving old friends. Richard and his team have achieved an perfect balance of professional customer service and top class food while still finding the time and energy to create a friendly, fun atmosphere. We were truly spoiled with fine ale and fine wines, excellent food and courteous, friendly service.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
If I could give this place zero stars I would. We went here a couple of years ago and had the most disasterous meal I have ever had in my life. I swore I wouldn't go again.

This summer, however, I heard it was under new management, so I relented and we called in with some friends for an afternoon 'cuppa". Four people for 'tea and scones' - two wrong orders! Indifferent staff and a bill the size of the national debt.

Bugger it - never again - and I mean it his time.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
When the previous owners left and the restaurant was renamed The Majestic (used to be called The Watermargin), I was afraid that standards might fall. I'm delighted to report that they haven't - this restaurant is as good as it always was.

The surroundings are lovely, the view over Douglas bay is spectacular and the food is top class. Really friendly and efficient service and comes highly recommended.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
Enjoyed a quiet moment with family members sharing hot chocolate and some yummy concoction off the counter. Superb service from smiling, professional people. Can't fault the surroundings or the food.

Will be back for a full restaurant meal soon because this place is drop-dead gorgeous.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Jaks Bar & Steak House - Douglas - Isle of Man written 15 Jun 2012


Not for me! In fact, if you are over 40 and respect your ear drums, you'll go elsewhere. It probably suits younger people who don't care if they are deaf before they reach the age of 50, but for anyone who wants to hold a conversation without shouting, this is not the place to go.

The beer's okay, the staff are okay, the location is okay. It's the noise levels that are waaaay to loud. I like music, but not when it's at 150 decibels right in my ear!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Tamarind - Mountain Ash - Rhondda Cynon Taff written 4 Mar 2012


I stumbled across The Tamarind totally by accident while filling up my car (it's next to a service station on the A470 Trunk Road near Mountain Ash). Boy, am I glad my car was thirsty!!

The staff were very, very polite so we simply asked what they recommended and they certainly didn't steer us wrong! There was plenty of choice for both of us, from the classics to the less usual and the food was fabulous in both cases. They take pride in their service and their food - everything we tried was absolutely awsome!! If you even remotely like Indian food, find this place and give it a try. You will be impressed. We loved it!!!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Coffee Continental - Blackwood - Caerphilly written 4 Mar 2012


While exploring South Wales we came across the small town of Blackwood, so stopped for some refreshment. We were not having much luck, and were about to return to the car when we spotted Coffee Continental in the Market Precinct. What a joy! Some of the 'big city operators' should pay a visit and see how a 'proper' coffee shop is run!

A truly great place with home made everything (and George knows all about coffee too!). Their food is beautifully cooked and so fresh. A true delight... what a discovery!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of 33 Windsor Place - Cardiff - Cardiff written 2 Mar 2012


33 Windsor Place is situated only about 100 yards from Cardiff's Queen Street but what a contrast, it is a haven of tranquility in a quiet leafy square with grand old houses all around.

It is nothing like your average pub - rather it is a smart cafe bar / lounge type establishment (I dislike that "gastro pub" sobriquet - it's a bar with food - get over it!). Anyway, the service was both good and friendly and the choice of food was varied. The food, itself was of a very high standard. Their homemade wood oven pizza is as good as it gets and their Honey Buttered Chicken was a gastronomic delight (for a gastro-pub!!)
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
One of the most imaginative and well executed menus that I have seen and tasted in a very long time. When you visit "Franklin's" you are not only treated to a real taste sensation but a visual feast too. Not surprising this wins awards as best restaurant in Moray. We particularly enjoyed bing enjoyed being walked through the dessert menu by Lloyd, the owner-chef, - nice touch.

The friendly and relaxed atmosphere just encourages you to linger and enjoy your meal, whilst the staff are welcoming and inviting. And relaxing in the bar afterwards was like siting with your feet up in your own living room!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Famous Creg Ny Baa - Onchan - Isle of Man written 23 Feb 2012


Excellent pub just 3 or 4 miles up the mountain outside Douglas. The staff were friendly - lots of smiles all round - and the beer was good. I didn't eat there but I saw plenty of food being served and it looked like good size portions, all fresh and looks of happy concentration from the customers.

Must make a point of eating there next time.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
I've visited The Abbey several times now and have always enjoyed perfect food, in perfect surroundings (and a great wine list). Unfortunately, I can't give it 5 stars for one simple reason.. if there's a group arrive, they hover in the bar area (where there are dining tables) and the staff don't seem in any rush to move them through to the annexe where they will be eating. Not much fun when you can hardly hear yourself speak, or get someone dump their empty glass on your table. Otherwise 100%
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Jade Harbour Restaurant - Peel - Isle of Man written 7 Dec 2011


Not much I can say about Jade Harbour except, "Go There!". The food is as good as any of the better Chinese restaurants on The Island, the surroundings are unusual if you're down in the "smugglers caves" but above all, the staff are amazingly efficient and friendly, and that can make a HUGE difference between an enjoyable evening out and a damp squid.

Careful what you order though! Portions are more than generous, so make sure your eyes aren't bigger than your stomach!
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Archibald Knox - Onchan - Isle of Man written 7 Dec 2011


Maybe I judge unfairly but, having queued at the bar for almost 10 minutes then being told by a surly manager that the kichen had just closed (it was still at least 5 minutes before last meal orders) was never going to make me too happy.

To then see the manager himself about 10 minutes later come out from behind the bar with a large plate of food and sit down to eat it, was just adding insult to injury.

The beer is ok, but the guy who was manager when we called should not manage a bloody zoo
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Old Cottage - Bridgend - Bridgend written 17 Jul 2011


The building that houses The Old Cottage Restaurant & Bistro was never designed to be a restaurant. However, the excellent conversion works well, giving the place a homely feel. If you like to eat in a plastic box it's not for you, otherwise you'll love it!

The restaurant is actually tucked away in the Centre of Bridgend and is accessed from the rear and can easily be missed even if you are familiar with Bridgend. The approach is via the 'new' walkway along the river or a narrow doorway on the road from the multi-storey car-park.

It's worth the effort becaue, once inside, the service is very good and the staff make a real effort. Judging from the conversations, it was clear that a lot of their business is repeat business and that speaks volumes for the quality.

The food was excellent, plentiful, fresh and piping hot we had all three courses and both thoroughly enjoyed them all (though they need to get shot of the 2010 Rioja!!)
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Denny's Fish & Chip Shop - Kings Lynn - Norfolk written 22 Mar 2011


What a brilliant place ??ď this is a Fish & Chip shop run by Chinese. The fish and chips and other things are generally very good and the service is excellent. You will see queues coming out of it at times. It is a quirky place as well ??ď when Tesco??ôs was built, they did not sell up so there is this terrace house all by itself. The lady selling remembers people even after not having been there for some time. Price-wise it is about normal. Tends to be popular with school kids during the day as well
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of The Forge - Santon - Isle of Man written 19 Jan 2011


Yes, yes and yes (in that order). It's like a magnet for me... why? because it consistently serves fresh, good quality food and reasonable prices.

The only small negative is that it can sometimes get a bit busy (because it's popular with others too!) and you may have a short wait for your food.

Other than that, I can't fault it. Quality food, quality service, great surroundings, good price.
frankie avatar
Gold Reviewer
22 reviews
15 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man

Review of Royal India Restaurant - Peel - Isle of Man written 17 Jan 2011


The Royal India is just down the road from me, so we go frequently - not because it's close but because it's VERY GOOD. It's only a small restaurant (seats about 40 max, I imagine) but that makes it cozy and adds to the welcoming atmosphere. The food is always cooked fresh and is really delicious (there's a whole range from very mild up to 'blazing saddles') and I'm gradually working my way through the whole menu.

Extremely friendly and helpful manager. Very highly recommended.