RECENTLY ADDED REVIEWS FOR RESTAURANTS, PUBS, CLUBS & BARS


mousyb avatar
Reviewer
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Female age 60+ from Peel
Review of The Swiss House - St Johns - Isle of Man written 16 Feb 2013
Nice meal last night at the Swiss House: the food was delicious and the staff very helpful.
The quantities, however, are very large, and I ended up having two starters, because there was no way I could manage a starter and a main course. Fortunately, what I fancied came either as starter or main: BBQ spare ribs and queenie pancake with a side salad. I had a homemade blackcurrant sorbet for dessert. Delicious!
I only regret that no "light" starter (e.g. melon and prosciutto, or a little shrimp or crab salad, or smoked salmon) is available.
grahamer avatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews
13 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
Review of The Swiss House - St Johns - Isle of Man written 16 Feb 2013
Enjoyed a nice meal at The Swiss House last night. The service is very courteous and attentive, the food is of good quality and fresh with a reasonable selection to choose from.

I started with a queenie pancake, which was delicious, and had home-made fish fingers for the main course. If I have one (small) niggle it would be that the plates are piled too high with food. I have a pretty good appetite, but no way could I face a dessert after my main course.

Prices are not unreasonable for the type of restaurant and food on offer. All-in-all, a very good place to go... I'll be visiting again soon!
mousyb avatar
Reviewer
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Female age 60+ from Peel
Review of Royal India Restaurant - Peel - Isle of Man written 31 Jan 2013
My husband and I ate in Royal India last night. As always, the food was fresh and tasty. There is a good selection, and some dishes are not too spicy, which is appreciated when we eat with our grandchildren.

The manager is very smiley and helpful. The background music is not offensive, so conversations can quietly go on during the meal.

I recommend this place where you can eat delicious food in a cozy atmosphere.
mousyb avatar
Reviewer
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
Female age 60+ from Peel
Review of Tynwald Hill Inn - St Johns - Isle of Man written 28 Jan 2013
The Sunday roast did not quite meet our expectations: waferthin slice of meat, and vegetables on the overcooked side.
paddington avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
Male age 40-49 from Norfolk
Review of House On The Green - Kings Lynn - Norfolk written 27 Jan 2013
This used to be one of the top wining and dining places in Kings Lynn. Now it all seems a little tired and run down. Needs an atmosphere transplant.
grahamer avatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews
13 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
Review of Tynwald Hill Inn - St Johns - Isle of Man written 27 Jan 2013
Just had a rather disappointing Sunday Carvery at The Tynwald Hill. It wasn't that the food was bad - it was simply that the food could not be rated as 'good'.

From a choice of beef, pork or chicken, two of us had chicken, one had beef and one had pork. The chicken looked like shredded chicken leg or wing and the pork was sliced so thin you could see through it. The vegetables were plentiful but, sadly, all the food was only just warm.

On the plus side, that waiter (landlord?) was polite and smiley, but we all left feeling disappointed.
ltoach avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
1 helpful vote
Female age 30-39 from Crewe
Review of The Hand and Trumpet - Crewe - Cheshire written 27 Jan 2013
We recently ate at the hand and trumpet, the food was exceptional, as were the staff who served us. The hand and trumpet has a friendly atmosphere and excellent food. It's definitely worth a visit.
SallyNig avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
1 helpful vote
Female age 30-39 from Crewe
Review of The Hand and Trumpet - Crewe - Cheshire written 25 Jan 2013
We recently went for a celebratory meal at the Hand and Trumpet. We enjoyed a very nice bottle of champagne from an extensive wine list as well as having a lovely meal from a daily menu. The pub is well presented, with open fires and a warm atmosphere. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed the whole experience, thank you. Well worth a visit.
chifoody avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
1 helpful vote
Male age 16-29 from London
Review of 88 Chinese Takeaway - Trimdon Station - Durham written 6 Dec 2012
This is one of place where food is extremely tasty especially the shrimp balls and tofu. Unfortunately, the decor and atmosphere are not that great. If you are a Chinese foody you'll certainly enjoy their food and their excellent service (probably the best in the town). Just don't look for anything more than that.
sonia avatar
Reviewer
3 reviews
Female age 30-39 from Durham
Review of Blue Lagoon - Darlington - Durham written 27 Nov 2012
This is one great restaurant! Excellent service with a great meal. We all were satisfied by the quantity and quality. The restaurant has been open for 30 years with an excellent and well-deserved reoutaion for service and quality food. Not one to miss.
katrina avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
1 helpful vote
Female age 16-29 from London
Review of 241 Pizzas - Sunderland - Tyne and Wear written 20 Nov 2012
All my cousins held a reunion after many years and we decided to go for a pizza here. The Food was fresh and authentic; they presented it very well and served us royally. The place is clean and maintained very well. We had a great evening in nice surroundings and the staff were very helpful. Great lounge too, to have the most delicious cocktails in a great atmosphere.
Sweety avatar
Gold Reviewer
15 reviews
4 helpful votes
Female age 40-49 from Chelmsford
Review of 129 Coffee Shop - Whitley Bay - Tyne and Wear written 20 Nov 2012
On the way back home we stopped for lunch here. It's a nice conventional restaurant but lacks attention to detail. We ordered food which they served warm, we tried talking to the waiters they were busy and had no courtesy to check what they served is OK or not. The food tasted ok but lacked the final touch. I will think twice before coming back
mousie_b avatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews
23 helpful votes
Female age 60+ from France & Isle of Man
Review of The Lifeboat Inn - Thornham - Norfolk written 19 Nov 2012
A very friendly welcome is always a good sign, especially when it's cold outside and you are greeted by a smiling face and a roaring log fire! Dining is elegant, but not stuffy with a restaurant, a conservatory and bars with tables. The food was truly excellent and the choices and the way the dishes are prepared and presented cannot be faulted. It's not cordon bleu, but it's not meant to be - it's a pub after all's said and done! Food portions are sensible and are cooked with care and skill. (Sounds weird, but corned beef hash served with a gooey runny duck's egg is to die for!). Plenty of fat and delicious oysters and mussels and, of course, all manner of fish dishes (and so there should be, being right on the North West Norfolk coast). difficult to find fault, so highly recommended.
mousie_b avatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews
23 helpful votes
Female age 60+ from France & Isle of Man
Review of The Seafood Restaurant - St. Andrews - Fife written 18 Nov 2012
The saying is "you get what you pay for" and nothing could be truer at The Seafood Restaurant in St. Andrews, Though the prices are high, the standards are equally high. The restaurant is all-round glass construction in a unique position overlooking the sea. The food was truly delicious. I had scallops that were perfectly cooked and the fusion of flavours was perfect. The service was what you would expect when you are dining in a high standard restaurant. No complaints from me!
mike avatar
Silver Reviewer
9 reviews
6 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Peel IoM
Review of Portofino on The Quay - Douglas - Isle of Man written 13 Nov 2012
I agree with the two reviewers before me. The food is very good, but the prices can be a little difficult to justify. One of the few places I've been to where they know how to cook liver properly (still pink in the middle). Excellent wine list and very pleasant surroundings. Five stars if it wasn't for the size of the bill at the end!
shine avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
Male age 40-49 from Kidderminster
Review of Bhan Thai - Kidderminster - Worcestershire written 8 Nov 2012
Food in this place is so tasty and this is the best deal we got and perfect value for money but i guess this needs a total revamp. Usually restaurant gets too busy so reserve your seat and also try to be a early bird to enjoy the meal.
kate avatar
Reviewer
1 reviews
Female age 40-49 from Derby
Review of Badabing Diner - Belper - Derbyshire written 31 Oct 2012
This is one of the worst experience we have encountered, i need to make it a point to my friends who see review here in this site, please note people here are snobbish and rude to customers, but Florida and Italian food here is generally terrible with their bad service.
BE AWARE .....
maria avatar
Silver Reviewer
7 reviews
Female age 30-39 from Salisbury
Review of 69 New Street - Salisbury - Wiltshire written 31 Oct 2012
This is one of my favourite places where I keep coming back for lunch. (have been there during lunch several times). I love New York pizza, so whenever I feel like eating pizza,m I end up here. I in fact tried pasta too the portions are very generous. Service is quick and loads of varieties with great staff. It is truly a like 'party time' to be here
dolly avatar
Gold Reviewer
12 reviews
2 helpful votes
Female age 30-39 from Reading, Berks
Review of A; & Miah K Martin - Northwood - London W written 31 Oct 2012
This is a great place to have enough food but i personally felt the price is on the higher side. I was here with a friend on a Saturday afternoon, we just happened to drop in and got a great welcome and the staff are very friendly and they made us feel very comfortable. So much we got well settled in - this is a great salad bar.
grahamer avatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews
13 helpful votes
Male age 60+ from Isle of Man
Review of The Highwayman - Peel - Isle of Man written 30 Oct 2012
The Highwayman is very "nouveau pub" without quite sinking to the depths of "nouveau theme pub"! The beer is OK. The food is OK. The staff are fine. The surrounds are "nouveau OK". The loudspeakers are turned up just a bit too high.

Difficult to say much against it, but difficult to find too much in it's favour. It's bland, it's a pub. You can get a drink and something to eat. That about sums it up!